Bucking up my ideas

Today’s recipe for buckwheat porridge was inspired by a tweet from a woman who is also following this Sirtfood diet, who in turn was inspired by a recipe that appeared on a blog called Green Kitchen Stories. Now, the jury is still out on this diet because a. I haven’t lost any more weight since last week and b. it has just received a severe drubbing on Huffington Post from a woman with a PhD in nutritional science who declares it to be a pile of bogus money-spinning horseshit (to be fair, one of the authors of the diet has a masters in nutritional medicine and the other is a pharmacist and nutritionist so are not short of a qualification or two themselves). But I am still rather enjoying the food, particularly the discovery of wholegrain buckwheat, so I had me a little looky on the Green Kitchen website so I could give the recipe a go.

But I rather wish I hadn’t.

You see it’s one of those incredibly beautiful food blogs, written by an incredibly beautiful Scandi-chic couple who exude good health and good taste from every angle. Their offspring are immaculate and angelic, their photography natural yet artful and their (100% vegetarian) recipes look enticing enough to turn even the most committed carnivore. And there’s not a Billy bookcase or meatball in sight.

*big sigh*

Made me feel envious and inadequate in equal measure. Go on, go and have a look why don’t you, but I’ll bid you adieu now because I doubt you’ll want to return to my sorry excuse for a food blog once you see how it should be done.

Anyway, I tried their buckwheat porridge recipe and the next day, made my own version. I preferred mine actually, so they can stick that in their hand-carved pine-scented incense burner and smoke it. (Cheers for the idea though guys.)

Cinnamon buckwheat porridge

img_2550

I was eating a bowl of Sirt muesli the other day which contains both flaked and puffed buckwheat and I suddenly started thinking about hospitals. After a while I worked out why – they taste exactly like the smell of fabric plasters (if that makes any sense at all). Not very nice. Buckwheat in wholegrain form is a different matter – it is nutty in flavour and has a great texture that works in both sweet and savoury dishes.

(P.S. I want you to know that I made a particular effort with this photo, taking advice from David and Luise (them being the beautiful people) who only take their photos in natural light. So rather than hurriedly pushing all the dirty pots, peelings, kids’ breakfast things, homework etc. to one side and taking a quick snap with my phone in the kitchen as I would normally do, I trotted outside in the FREEZING cold, in my slippers, cleared all the dying pot plants and bird shit off the garden table and took a picture with my posh camera. Hope you appreciate it. Next time I’m going to scatter a few berries around, maybe some rose petals too and put the yogurt in an artful jar. I am learning you see.)

Serves 1

  • 1/4 cup buckwheat grains
  • 1/2 cup almond milk, regular milk or water
  • small pinch salt
  • small pinch cinnamon
  • 1 Medjool date stoned and chopped
  • handful of chopped nuts (almonds are nice, but any will do)
  • Greek yogurt, berries, honey/maple syrup to serve
  1. Put buckwheat in a pan with the milk/water, salt and cinnamon and bring to the boil.
  2. Turn down the heat and simmer gently until all the liquid has been absorbed – about 12 minutes.
  3. Take off the heat and stir in the chopped dates and nuts.
  4. Put the mixture in a bowl and top with yogurt and/or fruit with a drizzle of maple syrup or honey.
  5. Imagine yourself in some cool open plan loft apartment in Stockholm and enjoy.

 

One thought on “Bucking up my ideas

Leave a Reply

